A season to remember: 2013 Chargers awards


The following is a list of awards as voted on by the team via the Chargers official website.

2013 Most Valuable Player: Philip Rivers

Rivers put this team on his back through the first three quarters of the season. His ability to milk the clock and keep his defense off the field is perhaps the most underrated part of his game. There isn’t a quarterback in the NFL with more passion than Rivers, and he is going to do everything in his power to finish his career with a Super Bowl ring.

2013 Offensive Player of the Year (Rodney Culver Memorial Award ): Ryan Mathews

His career-best 1,255 rushing yards and 285 carries speak to Mathews ability to be a workhorse. Yesterday, it was revealed that he was playing on a high ankle sprain which speaks to his toughness. The loss of Mathews was evident in the loss to Denver.

2013 Defensive Player of the Year (David Griggs Memorial Award): Eric Weddle

An absolutely irreplaceable player on the San Diego defense. Weddle led the team in tackles with 115 (the second highest total of his career). If the Chargers can improve at the cornerback position, Weddle should become an even bigger weapon on defense.

2013 Special Teams Player of the Year: Darrell Stuckey

Stuckey is a special teams ace and was forced into some action on the defensive side of the ball Sunday. It’s a luxury to have such a valuable piece on kick coverage that can step in to give depth to the defense.

2013 Lineman of the Year: Nick Hardwick

Another guy who proved his incredible toughness by playing on Sunday. Hardwick was coming off a brutal concussion thanks to Vontaze Burfict, but left it all on the field against Denver. Hardwick has been the staple on the San Diego line for the past decade.

2013 Co-Most Inspirational Player (Emil Karas Memorial Award): Nick Hardwick

2013 Co-Most Inspirational Player (Emil Karas Memorial Award): Jarret Johnson

2013 Co-Most Inspirational Player (Emil Karas Memorial Award): D.J. Fluker

Again, three guys who battled through injuries all year and define the word toughness. The thing I like most about these new San Diego Chargers under Mike McCoy is their physicality. This team is far from a finesse unit, and the overall tenacity is embodied by these three players.

Who received game balls from the divisional playoff game?

cover32 Shield b
Make sure you follow @cover32_SD and @cover32_NFL on Twitter for all the latest breaking news, columns, blogs and features from the Chargers and the entire NFL.

Previous articleFour teams left, but who is the best?
Next articleSan Francisco 49ers and Seattle Seahawks epic movie trailer resurfaces