Peyton Manning wins fifth NFL MVP

Credit: Ron Chenoy, USA TODAY Sports

While there are many nicknames out there, we should call him Peyton “Unprecedented” Manning. Or, maybe “Mr. Unparalleled” is better.

On Saturday night, Manning won his fifth NFL MVP, extending the National Football League record of four Most Valuable Player trophies he had already won.

Look at the list of legends he sits atop; Brett Favre, Johnny Unitas and Jim Brown who all took home three of the awards, while Joe Montana, Tom Brady, Steve Young and Kurt Warner each won the MVP twice.

How did Manning take home the MVP? By setting NFL records for basically every important passing category out there. His 55 touchdowns, 5,477 passing yards, 289 passing first downs and the 606 total points scored are all NFL records, as was being the only player with both 50-plus TDs and 5,000 yards in the same year.

Simply, while the Broncos are a team that’s stacked with talent, Manning is their most important player, the one in which this Super Bowl run was built upon.

Manning’ Broncos face the Seattle Seahawks today in Super Bowl XLVIII at 4:30 p.m. MT. The game can be seen on FOX.

Like this? Click here for the Broncos’ Weekly Rewind!

cover32 Shield b
Make sure you follow @cover32_Den and @cover32_NFL on Twitter for all the latest breaking news, columns, blogs and features from the Broncos and the entire NFL.

Previous articleWould another QB be so bad?
Next articleWill offense or defense rule Super Bowl XLVIII?