Randy Moss, Ray Lewis headline semifinalists for Hall of Fame

Oct 23, 2017; Philadelphia, PA, USA; ESPN analyst Randy Moss during pre game show before Monday night game between Philadelphia Eagles and Washington Redskins at Lincoln Financial Field. Mandatory Credit: Eric Hartline-USA TODAY Sports

Randy Moss and Ray Lewis headline The Pro Football Hall of Fame Modern Era semifinalists for the Class of 2018 in their first year of eligibility.

Other semifinalists who are in their first year of eligibility include Ronde Barber, Steve Hutchinson, Richard Seymour, and Brian Urlacher. Four previously eligible players are on the ballot for the first time: LeRoy Butler, Leslie O’Neal, Simeon Rice, and Everson Walls.

Hall of Fame by-laws dictate there must be 25 semifinalists plus all ties for the 25th spot. The Class of 2018 semifinalists include 12 offensive players (two running backs, five wide receivers, and five offensive linemen but no quarterbacks), 13 defensive players (three defensive linemen, three linebackers, and seven defensive backs), and two coaches.

The Modern Era semifinalists for the Class of 2018 are (number in parenthesis indicates how many times individual has been a semifinalist):

Steve Atwater, safety — 1989-98 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets (7)

Ronde Barber, cornerback/safety— 1997-2012 Tampa Bay Buccaneers (1)

Tony Boselli, offensive tackle — 1995-2001 Jacksonville Jaguars, 2002 Houston Texans (3)

Isaac Bruce, wide receiver — 1994-2007 L.A./St. Louis Rams, 2008-09 San Francisco 49ers (4)

LeRoy Butler, safety — 1990-2001 Green Bay Packers (1)

Don Coryell, head coach — 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-86 San Diego Chargers (10)

Roger Craig, running back — 1983-90 San Francisco 49ers, 1991 L.A. Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings (10)

Brian Dawkins, safety- 1996-2008 Philadelphia Eagles, 2009-11 Denver Broncos (2)

Alan Faneca, guard — 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals (3)

Torry Holt, wide receiver — 1999-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Jacksonville Jaguars (4)

Steve Hutchinson, guard — 2001-05 Seattle Seahawks, 2006-11 Minnesota Vikings, 2012 Tennessee Titans (1)

Joe Jacoby, offensive tackle — 1981-93 Washington Redskins (8)

Edgerrin James, running back — 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks (4)

Jimmy Johnson, head coach — 1989-93 Dallas Cowboys, 1996-99 Miami Dolphins (5)

Ty Law, cornerback— 1995-2004 New England Patriots, 2005, 2008 New York Jets, 2006-07 Kansas City Chiefs, 2009 Denver Broncos (4)

Ray Lewis, linebacker — 1996-2012 Baltimore Ravens (1)

John Lynch, free safety — 1993-2003 Tampa Bay, 2004-07 Denver (6)

Kevin Mawae, center/guard — 1994-97 Seattle, 1998-2005 NY Jets, 2006-09 Tennessee (4)

Karl Mecklenburg, linebacker — 1983-94 Denver (7)

Randy Moss, wide receiver — 1998-2004, 2010 Minnesota Vikings, 2005-06 Oakland Raiders, 2007-10 New England Patriots, 2010 Tennessee Titans, 2012 San Francisco 49ers (1)

Leslie O’Neal, defensive end — 1986, 1988-95 San Diego Chargers, 1996-97 St. Louis Rams, 1998-99 Kansas City Chiefs (1)

Terrell Owens, wide receiver— 1996-2003 San Francisco 49ers, 2004-05 Philadelphia Eagles, 2006-08 Dallas Cowboys, 2009 Buffalo Bills, 2010 Cincinnati Bengals (3)

Simeon Rice, defensive end — 1996-2000 Arizona Cardinals, 2001-06 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2007 Denver Broncos, 2007 Indianapolis Colts (1)

Richard Seymour, defensive end/defensive tackle — 2001-08 New England Patriots, 2009-12 Oakland Raiders (1)

Brian Urlacher, linebacker — 2000-12 Chicago Bears (1)

Everson Walls, cornerback — 1981-89 Dallas Cowboys, 1990-92 New York Giants, 1992-93 Cleveland Browns (1)

Hines Ward, wide receiver — 1998-2011 Pittsburgh Steelers (2)

General manager Bobby Beathard (1978-89 Washington Redskins, 1990-2000 San Diego Chargers) is a finalist in the Contributor category while linebacker Robert Brazile (1975-84 Houston Oilers) and guard Jerry Kramer (1958-68 Green Bay Packers) are Senior Finalists.

In January, the list of Modern Era semifinalists will drop from 25 to 15, joining Beathard, Brazile, and Kramer on the final ballot. The Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018 will be announced Feb. 3, the day before Super Bowl LII in Minneapolis.

The 2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony will be held in August in Canton, Ohio.

– Curtis Rawls is a Managing Editor for cover32 and covers the NFL and New York Giants. Please like and follow on Facebook and Twitter. Curtis can be followed on Twitter @CuRawls203.

Previous articleUndrafted rookie Chad Wheeler shines in first NFL start against Chiefs
Next articleRaiders HC Del Rio Can Only Blame Himself