Jacksonville Jaguars
Everything You Need to Know About the Jacksonville Jaguars

Whether you’re a longtime fan of the Jacksonville Jaguars or you’re just getting into the NFL, this guide will tell you everything you need to know about the team. From their history and Super Bowl appearances to their current roster and coaching staff, we’ll cover it all so that you can be an expert on the Jaguars.

The Jacksonville Jaguars are based in Jacksonville, Florida

The Jacksonville Jaguars are a professional American football team based in Jacksonville, Florida. The Jaguars compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the American Football Conference (AFC) South division. The team plays its home games at TIAA Bank Field.

The franchise was founded in 1993

In 1993, businessman Wayne Weaver was awarded an NFL franchise for Jacksonville. The Jaguars played their first regular-season game in September 1995 against the Houston Oilers. Although they lost that game 30-27, the Jaguars went on to have a successful inaugural season, finishing with a 9-7 record. They qualified for the playoffs and even won a playoff game against the Buffalo Bills before losing to the New England Patriots in the AFC Championship Game. Despite not winning a Super Bowl, the Jacksonville Jaguars have been one of the most competitive teams in recent years.

How did they get their colours and logo?

Jacksonville’s original team colours were black, gold, red, and white. The team’s first logo was an italicized block J with a tail, very similar to the current-day Jaguar logo on the helmets, but with the difference that the lowercase letter “j” had a cat’s tail attached, even though it was a dog named “Jax” that originally inspired the adoption of that nickname.

The most famous Jacksonville Jaguar alumni

The Jacksonville Jaguars have had many famous alumni over the years. Some of the most famous include former NFL quarterback Mark Brunell, who played for the team from 1995 to 2003, and current NFL star defensive end Calais Campbell, who has been with the team since 2017. Other notable alumni include running back Fred Taylor, who played for the team from 1998 to 2008, and wide receiver Jimmy Smith, who played for the team from 1995 to 2005.

Jacksonville Jaguars

Most notable Jaguar moments

The Jacksonville Jaguars have had many great moments in their history. One of the most notable was their come-from-behind victory against the New England Patriots in the 2017 AFC Championship Game. The Jaguars were down 20-10 in the fourth quarter, but they rallied to score 14 unanswered points and win the game 24-20. It was one of the biggest upsets in NFL history, and it sent the Jaguars to their first-ever Super Bowl appearance.

Jacksonville Jaguars championship history

The Jaguars were founded in 1993 as an expansion team and have played in four AFC Championship Games, winning two. They have also won five division championships (1998, 1999, 2000, 2017, and 2018) and qualified for the playoffs nine times, most recently in 2019. The Jaguars have the distinction of being the only team in NFL history to win a division title with a negative point differential (-14 in 1998).